The "AI in Education" Bubble

If you’re reading this, you’re in the AI bubble.

  • This week I attended an event that reminded me that I’m in an AI bubble. I tend to focus on AI integration into the classroom and I quickly was reminded that most perspectives from educators on AI in Education revolve around hesitancy, lack of understanding and fear.

    While I recognize and validate those perspectives and opinions, I realized that perhaps this is why Education moves as slow as they say.

    I know we have to carefully roll out technology, especially for the safety of our students, but blocking and pretending it will go away, will only push our students further behind the learning curve for their future.

    One of the things that a panelist said was that they will be blocking access to AI until it will be perfected.

    But here is the thing, AI will never be perfected. It is learning and will continue to do so.

    We simply cannot wait for an event that will never happen.

    What CAN we do?

    🔥Emphasize Digital Citizenship🔥

  • teach how to use AI

  • how to question the results of AI

  • discuss how to deal with the limitations and biases

  • how to keep one’s privacy safe

  • support the critical thinking surrounding AI

    To address a few of the above topics, I created a free, downloadable AI Classroom Norms template for teachers, like you, to use WITH your students so you can set up boundaries and expectations together- to enable a larger, on going, dynamic conversation about AI use.

    If you desire a more intimate and engaging approach, I’ve created a Webinar Series “Intro to Generative AI” kicking off Wednesday, November 1st.

    While I found the event’s discussion enlightening, I realized that my perspective is a minority view…

    And perhaps if you’re reading this, my little AI bubble, so is your perspective.

    Would love your thoughts on the topic. Are we in a bubble, disconnected from the reality of what is happening in education? What can we do to ensure students are prepared for their future? Hit reply to this email!

Want to continue the discussion? Join the Teaching with Machines Facebook Community!

I love reading your feedback, it helps me design effective solutions for others. I try to respond to all my emails. Just hit reply to this email. Rooting for you and your students! Love, M.

Beep. Boop.

Need more guidance? I can help you, friend! Here’s how:

This includes a discovery call of your exact problem and work together to customize a solution based on your needs. Included in the package is a blueprint for implementation.